Advice for a young writer

Live to Write - Write to Live

I was recently contacted by the mom of a very young writer (mid-teen) who asked for advice on how to get her very prolific daughter (has completed NanoWrimo 3 times already) connected (and hopefully published) in the writing world.

I put heads together with my friend Gina Rosati (my weekly kidnapper) and we came up with this response and I thought was information good enough for *any* beginning writer.

*****

Thank you for contacting me, I’m always happy to help another writer and how lucky you are to have a writer in the house!

First, you need to understand that I am a journalist/blogger and not a novelist (although I am working on a book but it’s a memoir) so novel writing is not my area of expertise. However, I do have a few suggestions:

Have your daughter talk to her librarian (both school and public) and take the initiative…

View original post 492 more words

Leave a Reply

